shoppers_loding
press-logo

In the eye of the free-from storm

The paleo diet is another that eliminates specific foods and ingredients. Interestingly, many of the allowed items are the eight major allergens. A paleo diet includes lean meats, fish, fruits, vegetables, nuts and seeds, foods that in the past could be obtained by hunting and gathering. A paleo diet limits foods such as dairy products, legumes and grains.

Like FODMAP, paleo is not free-from, but many marketers prefer to eliminate in order to be fully transparent. Birch Benders, Denver, recently launched paleo frozen toaster waffles. They are made with tiger nut, cassava and coconut flours and contain no gluten, dairy, grains or added sugar.

Free-from dairy and free-from meat claims are also cues for those on vegan diets. Descriptors such as meatless and plant-based are not enough, as many such foods rely on dairy and egg for functionality and flavor.

For full article, click here.

VIEW PRESS PAGE